SHRI LAL BAHADUR SHASTRI NATIONAL SANSKRIT UNIVERSITY

(A central University established by an Act of Parliament)

RIGHT TO INFORMATION ACT-2005 Section 4(1)(b)(viii)

1.7: Boards, Councils, Committees and other Bodies constituted as a part of the Public Authority:

1.7.1: Name of Boards, Council, Committee etc.

- a) University Court
- b) Executive Council/Board of Management
- c) Academic Council
- d) Finance Committee
- e) Planning and Monitoring Board
- f) **Building Committee**

1.7.2: Composition

a) Executive Council/Board of Management

Executive Council.—

- 1. The Executive Council shall consist of the following persons, namely:
 - i. Vice-Chancellor shall be the Chairperson;
 - ii. two Deans of the School of Studies by rotation according to the seniority;
 - iii. one Professor, other than a Dean by rotation according to seniority;
 - iv. one Associate Professor by rotation according to seniority;
 - v. two members of the Court, none of whom shall be an employee of the University or a college or an institution affiliated to or recognised by the University;
 - vi. one representative from the University Grants Commission;
 - vii. three eminent academics nominated by the Visitor;
 - viii. two eminent academics in the field of Sanskrit and allied subjects to be nominated by the Central Government on the recommendations of the Vice-Chancellor;
 - ix. Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Human Resources Development looking after the University;
 - x. the Registrar of the University shall be the Secretary of the Executive Council.
- 2. All the members of the Executive Council, other than ex officio members shall hold office for a term of three years.
- 3. Seven members of the Executive Council shall form a quorum for a meeting of the Executive Council and it shall meet at least thrice in a year.

b) Academic Council

- a) The Academic Council shall consist of the following persons, namely:—
- b) the Vice-Chancellor shall be the Chairperson;
- c) Deans of School of Studies;
- d) Head of Departments and Director of Centres;
- e) two Professors other than Heads of Departments; according to seniority to be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor;
- f) two Teachers of the University, at least one of whom shall be an Associate Professor, by rotation according to seniority, to be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor;
- g) one member, other than those referred to in items(b), (c), (d) and (e) from each Schools of studies and centres;
- three persons, not being employees of the University to be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor on the recommendations of the Academic Council for their special knowledge;
- i) two members of the Court, none of whom shall be an employee of the University or a College or an Institution affiliated to or recognized by the University.
- (2) The Registrar of the University shall be the Secretary of the Academic Council.
- (3) All the members of the Academic Council, other than ex officio members shall hold office for a term of three years and they shall be eligible for re-appointment after a cooling off period of at least two years.
- (4) Half of the sanctioned strength of the Academic Council shall form a quorum for a meeting of the Academic Council.

c) Finance Committee

- (1) The Finance Committee shall consist of the following members, namely:
 - a. The Vice-Chancellor;
 - b. one person to be nominated by the Court;
 - c. Three persons to be nominated by the Executive Council, out of whom at least one shall be a member of the Executive Council;
 - d. One representative of the Ministry of Human Resource Development;
 - e. Finance Officer shall be the Member—Secretary

d) Planning and Monitoring Board

- (1) The Planning and Monitoring Board shall consist of the following persons, namely:
 - a) The Vice-Chancellor shall be the Chairperson;
 - b) Three internal members, to be nominated by the Executive Council;
 - c) Three eminent educationists having special knowledge of the University planning, to be appointed by the Executive Council;
 - d) The Finance Officer;

- e) The Registrar who shall be Member-Secretary.
- (2) The term of the members of the Planning and Monitoring Board, excluding ex officio members, shall be three years and they shall be eligible for re-appointment. (3) The quorum for the meeting of the Planning and Monitoring Board shall be five. (4) The Planning and Monitoring Board shall meet at least twice a year.

1.7.3: Dates from which constituted

Since Inception

1.7.4: Term/Tenure

a) Executive Council:

All the members of the Executive Council, other than ex officio members shall hold office for a term of three years.

b. Academic Council:

All the members of the Academic Council, other than ex officio members shall hold office for a term of three years and they shall be eligible for re-appointment after a cooling off period of at least two years

b) Finance Committee:

All the members of the Finance Committee, other than ex officio members, shall hold office for a term of three years.

c) Planning and Monitoring Board:

The term of the members of the Planning and Monitoring Board, excluding ex officio members, shall be three years and they shall be eligible for re-appointment.

d) Building Committee:

All the members of the Building Committee, other than ex officio members shall hold office for a term of three years.

1.7.5: Powers and Functions:

As defined in the Central Sanskrit Universities Act-2020

1.7.6: Whether their meetings are open to the Public?

Not open for public only committee members are allowed

1.7.7: Whether the minutes of the meetings are open to the Public?

Yes open for public

1.7.8: Place where the minutes if open to the Public are available?

On the mentioned link:

https://www.slbsrsv.ac.in/university-corner/minutes-committee-meetings